Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future logo

European Broadband Awards archive

The European Broadband Awards is an annual event where the European Commission recognizes outstanding broadband internet projects in Europe. The first edition of the awards took place in the year 2015.

European Broadband Awards
European Commission - European Broadband Awards

European Broadband Awards 2018

The deadline for submitting projects was 7 September 2018. Projects from all over Europe applied. The jury of broadband experts selected 15 finalists. The five winners were announced and awarded at the ceremony on 19 November 2018 and presented their projects at the Broadband Day in Brussels on 20 November 2018. Check the photos and the video from the Award Ceremony. The winners are also featured in the good practice database of Broadband Europe. The video interviews with the five winners of the 2018 awards are available online. For reference only, the application form and the guide for applicants are available for download. The projects applied in one of the five categories of awards:

  1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment. The projects that applied effective and innovative financing, business or investment models fall into this category.
  2. Cost reduction and co-investment in a future-proof infrastructure. The category is addressed to projects that applied measures exploiting the synergies between different infrastructures and strived for cooperation among relevant stakeholders in building and investing in future proof high capacity infrastructure.
  3. Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas. Projects with impact on territorial cohesion of rural and remote areas, on sustainable territorial development, competitiveness and better connectivity of territories fall under this category.
  4. Socio-economic impact and affordability. The category is for projects that have direct and indirect socio-economic impacts as well the impact on the affordability of services for end-users.
  5. Openness and competition. This is the most suitable category for projects that strived for openness of the infrastructure and creating favourable conditions for competition among retail suppliers.

European Broadband Awards 2017

49 projects applied by the deadline of 7 September 2017. The projects were assessed by a jury composed of experts in broadband who selected the 15 finalists and the five winners. The European Commissioner for Regional Policy Corina Crețu and Commissioner for Agriculture & Rural Development, Phil Hogan awarded the five winners at the Award Ceremony on 20 November 2017 and their projects were showcased at the Broadband Days in Brussels. The winners and finalists are featured in the good practices database of Broadband Europe. The video interviews with the five winners are available online.

European Broadband Awards 2016

Günther H. Oettinger, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, awarded the five winners during the B-DAY: Going Giga event that took place on 14-15 November in Brussels. The video interviews with the five winners and the selected photographs are available online.

More than 60 projects had applied for the European Broadband Awards 2016. The projects were assessed by a jury composed of five experts in broadband. The jury selected the sixteen finalists whose projects are featured in the good practices database. For more details on procedures please check the guide for applicants.

European Broadband Awards 2015

48 candidate projects applied to participate in this event. This promotional video below explains the European Broadband Award 2015 concept and gives detailed information on the five 2015 award winners.