Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future logo
News article | Publication

Meet the jury of the European Broadband Awards 2018

The projects applying for the European Broadband Awards 2018 will be assessed by an eminent jury composed of five European broadband experts. They will select the finalists and the winners for each of the five award categories. The jury members are: Anne Mousa Ståhl, Ivančica Urh, Michael Murphy, Fiona Ashmore and Pedro Ferreira.

Photos of the members of the jury

atene KOM GmbH

Jury EBA 2018

Anne Mousa Ståhl

As the Broadband Manager & Broadband Coordinator for Gotland, Sweden since 1995, Anne Mousa Ståhl has run a series of broadband projects with strong political support and in strong cooperation between the actors involved. Anne Mousa Ståhl has written the digital strategies and secured political and financial support. Since 2015, she is also the Coordinator for the deployment of the regional Digital Agenda for Gotland. Anne Mousa Ståhl has been the Secretary of the CPMR´s Baltic Sea Commission and the Secretary of the B7 Baltic Islands Network. The period coincided with the development of the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region and involved a lot of lobby work as well as collaboration with other European regions and organisations. Prior to moving to Gotland, Anne Mousa Ståhl worked as a market analyst at the Swedish iron ore company LKAB and as a market director of an innovative spring off from the Swedish Space agency Wahlberg & Selin, developing systems for communication via satellites. Anne Mousa Ståhl holds a degree in International Marketing and Programming from the University of Göteborg.

Ivančica Urh

Ivančica Urh works as a Head of the Electronic Communications Department at the Croatian Ministry of the Sea, Transport and Infrastructure. She holds a M.E.E. degree from the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing of University of Zagreb and Univ. Spec. degree for electronic communications market regulation. Her career in telecommunications industry started in 1991 at Croatian Telekom as a senior specialist for mobile communications and as International roaming manager. She joined the Ministry in 2005 at the beginning of the negotiations for accession of the Republic of Croatia to the EU, as a member of two chapters negotiation teams. In the past thirteen years, she worked on an improvement of the electronic communications legal and regulatory framework. As the Head of Department, she is also responsible for the development and implementation of the national NGN plan, Broadband Strategy and the coordination of the national framework programmes for broadband infrastructure deployment in the Republic of Croatia. Ivančica Urh is the President of the Croatian Post Supervisory Board.

Cllr Michael Murphy

Councillor Michael Murphy is President of the Irish Delegation to the EU Committee of the Regions (COR). He is a member of the Broadband Platform established by the COR together with the European Commission to contribute to the deployment of faster, better and sustainable high-speed broadband in all European regions, particularly in rural and sparsely populated areas. The Platform works towards eliminating the digital divide due to geographical location and/ or market failure. He is also the COR's Rapporteur on the Commission’s most recent report on Competition Policy. Michael Murphy continues to work in the private sector, with almost 30 years experience as a senior executive for a medium-sized enterprise.

Fiona Ashmore

Dr Fiona Ashmore is an expert in rural broadband development, having focused her academic career on community broadband movements and the impact technology has in the rural landscape. She has recently joined the University of Lincoln to work with the CORA project, COnnecting Remote Areas with digital infrastructure and services, a project co-funded under the Interreg IV B North Sea Region Programme (2014-2020). At Lincoln, her current research is focussing on the development of technology hubs as spaces for digital innovation in rural areas. Fiona Ashmore is a regular attendee and contributor to conferences and seminars and is often publishing in peer-reviewed academic journals.

Pedro Ferreira

Pedro Ferreira is an expert in telecom regulation with 25 year of experience. He was Head of the Legal Department of Postal Services and Telecommunications in Macao until 1999, when he joined ANACOM (National Authority of Communications, Portugal), as senior specialist. Since 2004, Pedro Ferreira heads the area of European Affairs at ANACOM and has been involved in a number of initiatives at EU level including the national representation in EU committees (COCOM, CEF-Telecom), as a coordinator for telecoms affairs during the PT EU presidency (2007), BEREC CN Chair (2015), negotiation of the EU legislation in the Council Telecom working party (telecom Code, roaming regulation, Net Neutrality) and responsible for promoting the WIFI4EU initiative in Portugal (2018).

The European Broadband Awards 2018

The finalists of the European Broadband Awards 2018 will be announced on the Broadband Europe website and newsletter in October. The winners of the European Broadband Awards 2018 (one per category) will be announced and awarded by the European Commissioners at the Award Ceremony on the 19th of November 2018 and showcased at the Broadband Days 2018 in Brussels on the 20th of November 2018. Register and consult the agenda of the event for further details. The winners and finalists will also be displayed in the Good practice database of Broadband Europe.