Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future
News article | Publication

The search for excellence: European Broadband Awards 2018 adjudication has begun

Applications to the European Broadband Awards are now being assessed by an eminent jury of five broadband experts. All types of broadband deployment projects, irrespective of size, location or technologies, led by public and private organisations were invited to apply. The jury will select the finalists for each category in October 2018. The winners will be awarded in a special ceremony on the 19th of November and presented at the “Broadband Day: Mind the Broadband Gap Conference” on the 20th of November in Brussels.

European Commission

The highest number of applications came from Denmark, Germany and Spain. The majority of projects applied in category 3 “Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas”. The projects are now being assessed by a jury of five broadband experts.

The 2018 B-Day event will take place on 19th and 20th of November in Brussels. The winners of the European Broadband Awards will be presented in a special ceremony in the evening of the 19th of November. This is a unique opportunity to share your experience beyond your borders and, after the ceremony, network with the representatives of the projects highlighted as best practices in Europe. The conference day offers the possibility to take an active part in the forum of the main actors involved in regulation, financing and broadband deployment across Europe.

All projects will be featured on DG CONNECT webpages, in newsletters and will be displayed in the good practice database of Broadband Europe.

Award categories

The projects applied to and will be awarded in one of the five categories:

  • Innovative models of financing, business and investment
  • Cost reduction and co-investment in a future proof infrastructure
  • Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas
  • Socio-economic impact and affordability
  • Openness and competition


Check out previous Award winners:


More details on the past editions of the Awards are available in the European Broadband Awards archive.