Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future logo

The winners of WiFi4EU call announced!

The first 2,800 municipalities that have won a WiFi4EU voucher have been announced. Those municipalities, which did not win a voucher this time, can apply for the next calls. A second call will be launched in the beginning of 2019.

The first WiFi4EU call for proposals took place from 7-9 November 2018. More than 13,000 municipalities from all over Europe have applied. Following an evaluation of the applications, the Innovation and Networks Executive Agency (INEA), the Commission's executive agency in charge of implementing the WiFi4EU, has now published the list of winning municipalities.

This call has a budget of EUR 42 million, and 2,800 municipalities will receive vouchers of EUR 15,000 to set up a Wi-Fi hotspot in public spaces. The winning municipalities are now invited to sign in the WiFi4EU Portal a grant agreement with INEA.

While based on a “first-come, first-served” principle, all participating countries were nevertheless guaranteed a minimum of 15 vouchers (provided they had sufficient numbers of applicants) and capped at a maximum of 224 vouchers (corresponding to 8% of the call budget).

WiFi4EU winners 2018 by country