Skip to main content
Plasmare il futuro digitale dell'Europa
Call for proposals | Pubblicazione

Call for Applications for Media Literacy Awards

In the context of the European Media Literacy Week, the European Commission is opening a call for applications from inspiring and/or impactful projects in the field of media literacy. The seven best applicants will be invited to Brussels to compete for three Awards at the high-level conference of the European Media Literacy Week, which will be hosted by Commissioner Mariya Gabriel on 19 March 2019.

Selection process

The application form for the Media Literacy Awards is downloadable. Please submit your application to the e-mail address indicated on the form by 27 February 2019, 11:59 pm CET. Please read the privacy statement on how we process your data.

The eligibility criteria for media literacy projects to be able to compete for the Awards are the following:

  • The main focus of the project is promotion of media literacy (as defined by Recital 59 of the revised Audiovisual Media Services Directive) in one or more European countries.
  • Applicants must be established (in the case of organisations) or be citizens or residents (in the case of individuals) of at least one EU Member State, EEA/EFTA Member State or EU Candidate Country.
  • Projects in any of the EU’s official languages will be eligible. However, the application form must be completed in the English language only.
  • There are no specific requirements for the format or length of resources, programmes or campaigns, but the project is required to have been undertaken in the last two years (after 1 January 2017).

Eligible projects will be evaluated against the following selection criteria:

  • Originality and innovation: how innovative is the media literacy project compared to other initiatives in the field?
  • Impact and scalability: the (potential) impact on the intended target groups and the potential of the project to be scaled up to address a wider audience.
  • Clarity of presentation: the description is clear and easy to understand.

The Awards

The top seven selected applicants will be invited to pitch their projects in front of a jury consisting of experts and Commission representatives on 19 March 2019 in Brussels at the high-level conference of the European Media Literacy Week. Transportation and accommodation costs linked to the participation in the conference on 19 March 2019 will be covered by the organisers for one representative per selected finalist.

At the end of the conference the Commission will honour the most interesting projects by handing out three Media Literacy Awards, one in each of the following categories:

  • Award for the most innovative media literacy project
  • Award for the most educative media literacy project
  • Award for the media literacy project with the greatest European potential


Applications can be submitted from now until 27 February 2019, 11:59 pm CET.

The seven selected projects will be contacted via e-mail by 5 March 2019. Please note that only projects selected as finalists will be contacted.