Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future logo
Event | Publication

First Meeting of the European Commission's Expert Group on Digital Cultural Heritage and Europeana (DCHE)

This expert group will provide a forum for cooperation between Member States' bodies and the European Commission in the area of digitisation, online accessibility of cultural material and digital preservation and give guidance on Europeana’s annual work programmes under the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF).

The new DCHE Expert Group is conceived as a continuation of the Member States' Expert Group on Digitisation and Digital Preservation (MSEG), and will review and discuss policies for digital cultural heritage, notably by assisting the European Commission in monitoring progress and assessing the impact of the implementation of the EC Recommendation and related Council Conclusions.

Moreover, the Group will provide high quality advice on specific policy issues where such advice is important for the development of Union policies or legislation. Commission Decision of 7/3/2017 setting up the Expert Group on Digital Cultural Heritage and Europeana.

Agenda and Minutes

Presentations of participants:

1. Recap of Council Conclusions of 31 May 2016 on the role of Europeana (Gudrun Stock, European Commission)

2. DCHE Expert Group: scope and tasks (Krzysztof Nichczynski, European Commission)

3. Evaluation of Europeana: state of play (Federico Milani, European Commission)

4. CEF Work Programmes for Europeana DSI (Federico Milani, European Commission)

5. Introduction: Recap of Commission Recommendation (2011/EC) on Digitisation, Online Accessibility and Digital Presentation & and Member States progress reports (Katerina Moutogianni, European Commission)

6. Large scale digitisation in Romania(Dan Matei, RO delegate)

7. Procedures for using ESIF Funds for digital culture activities – the experience of Poland (Magdalena Piotrowska, Ministry of Development, Poland)

8. IMPACT centre of competence(Katrien Depuydt, IMPACT Centre Executive Board) 

9. Virtual Multimodal Museum (ViMM) project(Marinos Ioannides, CY delegate, Project Coordinator)

10. European Year of Cultural Heritage 2018 – EYCH2018(Anne Grady, European Commission)

11. Europeana: Planned actions under EYCH2018(Europeana Foundation)

12. Film Heritage: State of Play(Matteo Zacchetti, European Commission)

13. Europeana(Jill Cousins, Harry Verwayen, Shadi Ardalan, Europeana Foundation)

14. Estonian Presidency 2017(Mirjam Rääbis and Ülle Talihärm, Ministry of Culture of Estonia)