Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future
News article | Publication

Finalists of the European Broadband Awards 2023

Projects from all over Europe, providing very high capacity connectivity to the citizens, applied for the European Broadband Awards 2023. After thorough review, the jury selected 14 initiatives that made a difference in providing Europe with broadband internet.

Visual of the European Broadband Awards

European Commission

The finalists will meet in Brussels on 21 November, where five winners will be announced and awarded by the European Commission.

The following 14 projects were preselected by the jury for the finals:

Category 1. Innovative models of financing, business and investment

  • Development of Next Generation Access Infrastructure, Lithuania
  • SIRO Network Expansion, Ireland
  • Lower Austria - innovative PPP financing for supply rural areas with sustainable FTTH, Austria

Category 2. Cost reduction measures and co-investment

  • Strategic Connection Points Programme, Ireland
  • "Hermes" - Merger of Energie AG Telekom & Fiber Service OÖ Infrastructures, Austria
  • The Race Against Fagradalsfjall: Effective laying of fibre during an active volcanic eruption, Iceland

Category 3. Socio-economic impact in rural and remote areas

  • Trysil - broadband for everyone, Norway
  • RO-NET: Building a national broadband infrastructure in disadvantaged areas using Structural Funds, Romania
  • UNICO – Demanda Rural, Spain

Category 4. Demand generation and take-up of connectivity

  • Territorial community TV for Pohjois-Satakunta area, Finland
  • Broadband4Everyone - Broadband Infrastructure Development Plan for sustainable City of Solin, Croatia
  • - Information System on Fixed Internet Access, Poland

Category 5. Cross-border and international connectivity

  • Rheintal Internet Exchange - Project "Around the Lake Constance", Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein & Switzerland
  • Introduction of Fixed Wireless Access services by Geuzenet, Germany

The European Commission would like to thank all projects helping improve the so much needed connectivity between people in Europe for applying for the awards, as well as to congratulate the selected finalists.

The winners of the European Broadband Awards 2023 will be announced and awarded by the European Commission at the Award Ceremony on 21 November in Brussels

The European Awards Broadband are managed by the European Commission (DG Connect). For more information please refer to the European Broadband Awards page.