Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future
Press release | Publication

Sixteen EU-supported films compete at the 2022 European Film Awards

Sixteen EU-supported films will be nominated for awards at the 35th edition of the European Film Awards that will take place on 10 December in Reykjavík, Iceland.

banner of teh event with title "join us for the 35th European Film Awards" Saturday December 10th 18.45 GMT Red Carpet 19.15 GMT Ceremony

European Film Awards

Out of these sixteen EU-supported works holding a total of 30 nominations, four of them will be competing for the Best European Film award: Alcarràs', by Carla Simón; Close', by Lukas Dhont; Corsage', by Marie Kreutzer; and Triangle of Sadness', by Ruben Östlund.

The EU has supported their development, production and distribution through the Creative Europe MEDIA programme. The winners will be announced during the Award Ceremony.

During this ceremony, President Ursula von der Leyen will accept on behalf of the Commission, by video message, the newly introduced European Sustainability Award, which will reward the European Green Deal launched in December 2019 to make Europe the first climate neutral and nature-positive continent in the world.

More information on the European Film Awards

Related content