Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future
Press release | Publication

Audiovisual Media Services Directive: Commission refers five Member States to the Court of Justice of the EU

The European Commission has decided to refer Czechia, Ireland, Romania, Slovakia and Spain , to the Court of Justice of the European Union over the failure to transpose the revised Audiovisual Media Services Directive (“AVMSD”, Directive (EU) 2018/1808), with a request to impose financial sanctions in accordance with Article 260(3) TFEU.

graphic showing a computer screen with different images and with digital signs popping out of it

iStock photo Getty images plus

The AVMSD governs EU-wide coordination of national legislation on all audiovisual media. The latest review of AVMSD was carried out in 2018.

Full press release