Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future
News article | Publication

Commission Decision on Ukraine joining the work of BEREC

Today, the Commission adopted a Decision authorising the national regulatory authority of Ukraine responsible for electronic communications to participate in BEREC, the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (‘BEREC’) and the BEREC Office, the agency supporting BEREC.

The EU and Ukraine have been working together to secure affordable cross-border communications since the beginning of the war in Ukraine. Connectivity has played a key part in allowing fleeing refugees stay connected with people at home and abroad. BEREC has supported the Commission and has been monitoring the situation. Today’s Decision will allow cooperation to develop in a stable manner.

In the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the EU, they have have committed to working together to align Ukraine’s laws with EU electronic communications laws, in which BEREC plays an important role. The Agreement promotes cooperation between Ukraine’s national regulator and the national regulators across the EU Member States. By allowing a closer cooperation and an exchange of best practices, participation of the Ukrainian national regulatory authority in the work of BEREC and the BEREC Office will also facilitate this alignment.


BEREC aims in particular to ensure the consistent implementation of the regulatory framework for electronic communications in the European Union. BEREC plays an important role in assisting and advising the Commission and EU national regulatory authorities on electronic communications matters, notably via its opinions and guidelines. It also advises the Commission in relation to the preparation of relevant legislative initiatives. The BEREC Office is a decentralised agency mainly supporting the work of BEREC.

BEREC and the BEREC Office are open to the participation of national regulatory authorities outside the EU, which have entered into agreements with the Union to that effect. Currently, Albania, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, as well as the EEA countries, may participate in the work of BEREC and the BEREC Office. The Association Agreement with Ukraine allows for its participation.

More Information