Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future

eGovernment Action Plan

The eGovernment Action Plan set goals to modernise digital public services and make the EU a better place to work, live and invest.

    eGovernment procedures improve businesses by creating online procedures to set up a business, obtain government certificates, and for tax related matters

The eGovernment Action Plan enables people across the EU to fully enjoy the benefits of digital public services. The plans set goals to:

  • set up a Digital Single Gateway enabling users to obtain all information, assistance and problem solving services needed to operate efficiently across borders;
  • interconnect all business registries and insolvency registers and connect them to the eJustice portal, which will become a one-stop shop;
  • pilot the 'once-only' principle for businesses across borders so they only need to provide information to a public administration in one EU country and if permitted it is then re-used between different countries;
  • help EU Member States develop cross-border eHealth services such as e-prescriptions;
  • accelerate the transition to e-procurement and implementation of the once-only principle in public procurement.

In order to achieve its objectives, the eGovernment Action Plan identified 20 actions addressing at least one of the following policy priorities:

  • modernising public administrations using key digital enablers;
  • enabling mobility of citizens and businesses by cross-border interoperability;
  • facilitating digital interaction between administrations and citizens or businesses for high-quality public services.

Further actions may be proposed either by the Commission or by stakeholders, including EU countries and public administrations at all levels.

Latest News

The European Commission decides to refer Belgium, Bulgaria, Latvia and the Netherlands to the Court of Justice of the European Union for failing to enact EU rules on open data and public sector data re-use

The European Commission has just decided to refer Belgium, Bulgaria, Latvia and the Netherlands to the Court of Justice of the European Union for failing to transpose EU rules on open data and the re-use of public sector data (Directive EU 2019/1024, referred to as the Open Data Directive) into national law.

Related Content

Big Picture

eGovernment and digital public services

The European Commission is taking concrete actions to develop cross-border digital public services.