Skip to main content
Shaping Europe’s digital future logo
Shaping Europe’s digital future

EU Trusted Lists

Member States have the obligation to establish, maintain and publish trusted lists of qualified trust service providers and the services provided by them.

© iStock by Getty Images - 1159401925 vittaya25

Under the Regulation on electronic identification and trust services for electronic transactions in the internal market (eIDAS Regulation), national trusted lists have a constitutive effect. In other words, a trust service provider and the trust services it provides will be qualified only if it appears in a trusted list. Users, including citizens, businesses and public administrations, will benefit from the legal effect associated with a given qualified trust service only if the latter is listed as qualified in the trusted lists.

Article 22 of the eIDAS Regulation obliges Member States to establish, maintain and publish trusted lists. These lists should include information related to the qualified trust service providers for which they are responsible, and  information related to the qualified trust services provided by them. The lists are to be published in a secured manner, electronically signed or sealed in a format suitable for automated processing.

Trusted lists are essential in ensuring certainty among market operators as they indicate the status of the service provider and of the service at the moment of supervision. They aim at fostering the interoperability of qualified trust services by facilitating the validation of eSignatures and eSeals and more. 

Member States may add trust services other than the qualified ones in the trusted lists, on a voluntary basis. However this is only at national level, and it must be clearly indicated that they are not qualified according to the eIDAS Regulation.

In order to allow access to the trusted lists of all Member States, the Commission makes available to the public, through a secure channel to an authenticated web server, the trusted lists as notified by Member States, in a signed or sealed form suitable for automated processing.


Commission proposes a trusted and secure Digital Identity for all Europeans

The Commission has proposed a framework for a European Digital Identity which will be available to all EU citizens, residents, and businesses in the EU. Citizens will be able to prove their identity and share electronic documents from their European Digital Identity wallets with the click of a button on their phone. They will be able to access online services with their national digital identification, which will be recognised throughout Europe. Very large platforms will be required to accept the use of European Digital Identity wallets upon request of the user, for example to prove their age

Eurobarometer survey shows support for sustainability and data sharing

Europeans want their digital devices to be easier to repair or recycle and are willing to share their personal information to improve public services, as a special Eurobarometer survey shows. The survey measured attitudes towards the impact of digitalisation on daily lives of Europeans in 27 EU Member States and the United Kingdom. It covers several different areas including digitalisation and the environment, sharing personal information, disinformation, digital skills and the use of digital ID.

Related Content

Big Picture

Trust Services

The EU has introduced rules to strengthen trust services and ensure our online activity is secure across the EU.

See Also

Electronic signatures

The eSignature Directive established the legal framework at European level for electronic signatures and certification services.

Electronic Identification

Electronic identification (eID) is one of the tools to ensure secure access to online services and to carry out electronic transactions in a safer way.